Mathilde Goubet

Passionate concierge, Inspired by Scotland

Tell us what motivates you every day on your way to the agency
Meeting with the team, for one thing, but also working with people who, although different, are all driven by a common passion for Scotland. That is a pleasure every day. We always have discoveries and ideas to share, which is very stimulating. As a concierge with a passion for my work, it is obviously my pleasure to inform our guests about Scotland, and to do my utmost to make their stay as unforgettable and rich in discoveries as possible. I like to use my anticipatory skills. I project myself every day into our clients' travels and try to imagine the experience or encounter that will mark them the most.
Lastly, it is the pleasure of being in daily contact with our partners and maintaining the special relationships we have built up with them.

What is your area of expertise about Scotland?
Before settling in Scotland, I travelled the whole country as a volunteer on farms. This gave me the opportunity to discover many parts of Scotland in a privileged way and to build a network of contacts even before I settled in. This experience is a real asset in advising our individual clients on a daily basis, particularly in terms of introducing them to places and experiences off the beaten track.
The meetings I have had over the last few years also allow me to propose new service providers or partners to the team. In particular, I work with my local and independent contacts to enrich our products. It's an exciting challenge to ensure our programmes are compliant with the codes of business tourism while at the same time maintaining their authenticity.

How do you live your passion for Scotland on a daily basis?
I am passionate about Scotland for many reasons. The Scots and their great hospitality, the incredible and changing landscapes, the fascinating and little-known culture and history. When I arrived in Scotland, I worked at Edinburgh Castle for almost a year. It was a unique experience, which allowed me to learn a lot about key people and events in Scotland and to experience the daily pleasure of being in a very impressive place full of history.
It's a daily pleasure to live in this country, where you quickly feel at home. Particularly in Edinburgh, which, in addition to being a beautiful city with an incredible cultural richness, allows relatively quick access to other parts of the country, which have their own distinct character and landscape.
Lastly, I am fascinated by Scottish craftsmanship, especially its rich heritage in the textile industry. Tartan, tweed, silk - the Scots have great know-how that they have preserved and that they continue to pass on to the younger generations. It is a real pleasure to be able to go to these craftsmen and women, especially as suppliers of textiles with which I handcraft creations for my brand of accessories and jewellery, launched last year.

Contact me
Follow me

Mathilde Goubet

Concierge passionnée, Inspired by Scotland

Dis-nous ce qui te motive tous les jours en te rendant à l’agence
Retrouver l’équipe, d’une part. Travailler avec des personnes qui, bien que différentes, sont toutes animées par la passion commune de l’Écosse, est un plaisir au quotidien. Nous avons toujours des découvertes et idées à partager, ce qui est très stimulant. Concierge passionnée, c’est évidemment le plaisir de renseigner nos voyageurs sur l’Écosse, et faire mon maximum pour que leur séjour soit le plus inoubliable et riche en découvertes possibles. J’aime mettre à profit mes qualités d’anticipation. Je me projette tous les jours dans les voyages de nos clients et essaie d’imaginer l’expérience ou la rencontre qui les marquera le plus.
Enfin, c’est le plaisir d’être en contact avec nos partenaires au quotidien et d’entretenir les relations privilégiées que nous avons nouées avec eux.

Quelle est ton expertise de la destination ?
Avant de m’installer en Écosse, je l’ai sillonnée de long en large en tant que volontaire dans des fermes. Cela m’a permis de découvrir de nombreuses régions d’Écosse de manière privilégiée et de tisser un réseau avant même mon installation. Cette expérience est un vrai atout au quotidien pour conseiller nos clients individuels, notamment pour leur faire découvrir des lieux et expériences hors des sentiers battus.
Les rencontres que j’ai faites durant ces dernières années me permettent aussi de proposer à l’équipe de nouveaux prestataires ou partenaires. Je travaille notamment avec mes contacts locaux et indépendants au profit de nos expériences. Les faire tendre vers les codes du tourisme d’affaire tout en gardant leur part d’authenticité est un challenge exaltant.

Comment vis tu ta passion de l’Ecosse au quotidien ?
L’Écosse me passionne pour de nombreuses raisons. Les Écossais et leur grande hospitalité, les paysages incroyables et changeants, la culture et l’Histoire fascinante et trop peu connue. En arrivant en Écosse, j’ai travaillé au château d’Édimbourg pendant presque un an. C’était une expérience unique, qui m’a permis d’en apprendre beaucoup sur des personnages et évènements clefs de l’Écosse et de vivre au quotidien le plaisir d’être dans un lieu très impressionnant et chargé d’histoire.
C’est un bonheur au quotidien de vivre dans ce pays, où l’on se sent très vite chez soi. Et tout particulièrement à Édimbourg qui, en plus d’être une ville magnifique et d’une richesse culturelle incroyable, permet un accès relativement rapide a de nombreuses régions au caractère et paysages très distincts.
Enfin, je suis fascinée par l’artisanat écossais, notamment la richesse de leur héritage dans l’industrie textile. Tartan, tweed, soie, les Écossais ont un très grand savoir-faire qu’ils ont su préserver et qu’ils continuent de transmettre aux jeunes générations. C’est un vrai plaisir de pouvoir aller à la rencontre de ces artisans, notamment pour me fournir en textiles avec lesquels je fabrique à la main des créations pour ma marque d’accessoire et bijoux, lancée l’année dernière.

Contactez moi
Suivez moi